facebook

Call Us at 819.771.1884

for more information

header-pages

Obstetrical Ultrasounds

Pregnant? Here you will find all the information you need to know regarding obstetrical ultrasounds, which help doctors or midwives track each step of a pregnancy.

Some women will only get one ultrasound during their pregnancy while others will have several. Ultrasound imaging is a safe way to produce detailed images of the body’s internal organs. In the case of a pregnant woman, it allows the confirmation of her condition and the detection of her embryo or fetus by using high frequency sound waves. Reflected sound waves are recorded and displayed as a real-time visual image. Contrary to X-rays, ultrasounds use non-ionizing radiation (for more details on ultrasounds, click here).

The patient’s doctor or midwife requests the obstetrical ultrasound. Reasons are numerous and vary depending on the gestational age.

1st Trimester2nd Trimester3rd TrimesterNuchal Translucency3D/4D Ultrasound

1st Trimester

obstetrique img-premier trimestreSuprapubic and endovaginal

The first trimester starts when your baby is conceived and runs through week 15.

Reasons for the ultrasound:

  • Estimate the gestational age;
  • Establish the presence of a living fetus or a living embryo;
  • Look for multiple pregnancies;
  • Rule out or detect an abnormal pregnancy (ectopic, extrauterine, molar, anembryonic, etc…)

How is the procedure performed?

The sonographer will ask you to lie on your back on an examination table and to remove any clothing from your abdominal area. He or she will then protect your clothes with a cloth and will apply a warm gel to your abdomen before pressing the transducer against your skin. This probe produces sound waves which are used to view the body’s internal organs. In some cases, an endovaginal ultrasound has to be done, wherein a special kind of ultrasound probe is inserted into the vagina. This technique reveals more detailed images of the fetus, uterus and ovaries. You will first need to empty your bladder, remove your clothing from the waist down and assume a position similar to the one used for a pelvic exam.

Ultrasound images are displayed in real-time on a monitor that the sonographer watches while moving the transducer. You can also see the images.

What will I experience?

Ultrasound examinations are painless. You could experience some discomfort from pressure as the transducer is pressed against certain areas to capture images, especially when the bladder is full. Any discomfort is minimal and temporary. The sonographer ensures that the patient is as comfortable as possible.

Preparing for the first trimester ultrasound:

Your bladder should be full, enough to experience discomfort. You must finish drinking 1 litre of water one hour before your appointment time. Do not urinate until after your exam is completed.

Please note that a completed requisition form from your doctor or midwife is required at the time of your appointment. Otherwise, we cannot proceed.

Duration : 30 minutes

  • Option 1 : Ultrasound session recorded on DVD
  • Option 2 : Your baby’s heartbeat in a teddy bear
  • Option 3 : Ultrasound session recorded on DVD + your baby’s heartbeat in a teddy bear

Visit our section to learn more about First Trimester Pregnancy Ultrasound to find more information.

IMPORTANT: Note that multiple pregnancy ultrasound will be charged accordingly , since we have to do a full scan for each fetus. You will need to allow time for each fetuses .

2nd Trimester

obstetrique img-2 trimestre Suprapubic and endovaginal (if necessary)

The second trimester starts at week 15 and runs through week 25.

Reasons for the ultrasound:

  • Assess the fetal morphology: usually done between 18 and 20 weeks gestation. The sonographer evaluates each part of the fetus, placenta and uterus according to the standards established by the Society of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists of Canada (SOGC). It is also during this ultrasound that parents can find out the sex of their baby, if they want;
  • Establish the presence of a living fetus;
  • Estimate the gestational age;
  • Detect abnormalities or track their progress;
  • Look for multiple pregnancies.

How is the procedure performed?

The sonographer will ask you to lie on your back on an examination table and to remove any clothing from your abdominal area. He or she will then protect your clothes with a cloth and will apply a warm gel to your abdomen before pressing the transducer against your skin. This probe produces sound waves which are used to view the body’s internal organs. In some cases, an endovaginal ultrasound has to be done, wherein a special kind of ultrasound probe is inserted into the vagina. This technique reveals more detailed images of the fetus, uterus and ovaries. You will first need to empty your bladder, remove your clothing from the waist down and assume a position similar to the one used for a pelvic exam.

Ultrasound images are displayed in real-time on a monitor that the sonographer watches while moving the transducer. You can also see the images.

What will I experience?

Ultrasound examinations are painless. You could experience some discomfort from pressure as the transducer is pressed against certain areas to capture images, especially when the bladder is full. Any discomfort is minimal and temporary. The sonographer ensures that the patient is as comfortable as possible.

Preparing for the second trimester ultrasound :

Your bladder should be full, enough to experience discomfort. You must finish drinking 1 litre of water one hour before your appointment time. Do not urinate until after your exam is completed.

Please note that a completed requisition form from your doctor or midwife is required at the time of your appointment. Otherwise, we cannot proceed.

Duration : 40 minutes

  • Option 1 : Ultrasound session recorded on DVD
  • Option 2 : Your baby’s heartbeat in a teddy bear
  • Option 3 : Ultrasound session recorded on DVD + your baby’s heartbeat in a teddy bear

Visit our section to learn more about Second Trimester Pregnancy Ultrasound to find more information.

IMPORTANT: Note that multiple pregnancy ultrasound will be charged accordingly , since we have to do a full scan for each fetus. You will need to allow time for each fetuses .

3rd Trimester

obstetrique img-3 trimestre Suprapubic and endovaginal (if necessary)

The third trimester begins at 26 weeks and ends with delivery (around 40 weeks).

Reasons for the ultrasound:

  • Establish the presence of a living fetus;
  • Determine the fetal biophysical profile;
  • Assess fetal growth;
  • Determine fetal orientation;
  • Detect abnormalities or track their progress;
  • Evaluate the position of the placenta;
  • Measure the quantity of amniotic fluid.

How is the procedure performed?

The sonographer will ask you to lie on your back on an examination table and to remove any clothing from your abdominal area. He or she will then protect your clothes with a cloth and will apply a warm gel to your abdomen before pressing the transducer against your skin. This probe produces sound waves which are used to view the body’s internal organs. In some cases, an endovaginal ultrasound has to be done, wherein a special kind of ultrasound probe is inserted into the vagina. This technique reveals more detailed images. You will first need to empty your bladder, remove your clothing from the waist down and assume a position similar to the one used for a pelvic exam.

Ultrasound images are displayed in real-time on a monitor that the sonographer watches while moving the transducer. You can also see the images.

What will I experience? 

Ultrasound examinations are painless. You could experience some discomfort from pressure as the transducer is pressed against certain areas to capture images, especially when the bladder is full. Any discomfort is minimal and temporary. The sonographer ensures that the patient is as comfortable as possible.

Preparing for the third trimester ultrasound : No preparation is required.

Please note that a completed requisition form from your doctor or midwife is required at the time of your appointment. Otherwise, we cannot proceed.

Duration : 30 minutes (2D), 40 Minutes (3D/4D)

Between 28 and 32 weeks of pregnancy, it is possible to do the third trimester ultrasound in 3D/4D!

  • Option 1 : Ultrasound session recorded on DVD
  • Option 2 : Your baby’s heartbeat in a teddy bear
  • Option 3 : Ultrasound session recorded on DVD + your baby’s heartbeat in a teddy bea

Visit our section to learn more about Thrid Trimester Pregnancy Ultrasound to find more information.

IMPORTANT: Note that multiple pregnancy ultrasound will be charged accordingly , since we have to do a full scan for each fetus. You will need to allow time for each fetuses .

Nuchal Translucency for prenatal screenings

obstetrique img-clarte nucaleSuprapubic and endovaginal (if necessary)

The nuchal translucency ultrasound must be performed between 11 weeks + 4 days and 13 weeks + 6 days of pregnancy

Reason for the ultrasound:

Measure the nuchal translucency.

What is it?

Nuchal translucency ultrasound is usually a part of prenatal screenings, which gives an estimate of a pregnant women’s risk to have a baby with trisomy 18, trisomy 21 and kidney, cardiac or neural tube defects. During this ultrasound, the sonographer measures the thickness of a layer of liquid located at the back of the baby’s neck, between the skin and the vertebral column. This liquid is present only when the baby is between 11 weeks + 4 days and 13 weeks + 6 days old, which is why the nuchal translucency ultrasound cannot be done before or after this time.

The thickness of this collection of liquid, called nuchal translucency, is critical for IPS, which is performed in three stages, i.e. the nuchal translucency ultrasound and two blood samples taken at different times.

How is the procedure performed?

The sonographer will ask you to lie on your back on an examination table and to remove any clothing from your abdominal area. He or she will then protect your clothes with a cloth and will apply a warm gel to your abdomen before pressing the transducer against your skin. This probe produces sound waves which are used to view the body’s internal organs. In some cases, an endovaginal ultrasound has to be done, wherein a special kind of ultrasound probe is inserted into the vagina. This technique reveals more detailed images of the fetus, uterus and ovaries. You will first need to empty your bladder, remove your clothing from the waist down and assume a position similar to the one used for a pelvic exam.

Ultrasound images are displayed in real-time on a monitor that the sonographer watches while moving the transducer. You can also see the images.

What will I experience?

Ultrasound examinations are painless. You could experience some discomfort from pressure as the transducer is pressed against certain areas to capture images, especially when the bladder is full. Any discomfort is minimal and temporary. The sonographer ensures that the patient is as comfortable as possible.

Preparing for the prenatal screening ultrasound:

Your bladder should be full, enough to experience discomfort. You must finish drinking 1 litre of water one hour before your appointment time. Do not urinate until after your exam is completed.

Please note that a completed requisition form from your doctor or midwife is required at the time of your appointment. Otherwise, we cannot proceed.

Duration : 30 minutes

  • Option 1 : Ultrasound session recorded on DVD
  • Option 2 : Your baby’s heartbeat in a teddy bear
  • Option 3 : Ultrasound session recorded on DVD + your baby’s heartbeat in a teddy bear

IMPORTANT: Note that multiple pregnancy ultrasounds will be charged accordingly, since we have to do a full scan for each fetus. You will need to allow time for each fetus. Women whos physician or midwife is in Quebec, prenatal screening for trisomy 21 is not available is the case of a multiple pregnancy. We may still measure the nuchal translucency of each fetus, but blood sampling will be useless.

About Blood sample collection : You may eat and drink before this test.

If your physician or midwife is in Quebec:

Your physician or midwife will provide a form called ‘’Dépistage prénatal de la trisomie 21’’ after filling it up and signing it with you. This form comes from the ‘’Ministère de la santé et services sociaux du Québec’’, it is form # AH-611. When it comes to the Quebec prenatal screening program, the nuchal translucency ultrasound is not mandatory and the first blood collection may take place as soon as the 10th week of pregnancy. However, if you choose to go with the nuchal translucency, which can only occur between 11 weeks + 4 days and 13 weeks + 6 days of pregnancy, we highly recommend that you go for the first blood sampling after your ultrasound. It can be either on the same day or a few days later (the second blood sample should be collected between 14 weeks and 16 weeks + 6 days and at least 8 days after the first sample). It is imperative to bring the AH-611 form with you on the day of your appointment since the ultrasound technologist needs to fill in and sign a section of the form before the blood collection. We will also be able to tell you exactly when you should go for your blood samples collection. If there is more than one embryo, we can still measure the Nuchal Translucency of each embryo, but the complete Trisomy 21 screening with blood analysis is not available in Québec.

The Clinique d’échographie de l’Outaouais does not offer a blood sample collection service. There is a collection center located across the street from our clinic called Sentinelle Santé where you may go after your appointment with us, or you can go to any CSSS or CLSC near you, or at a private blood collection clinic of your choice.

Although a nuchal translucency ultrasound report is sent to the doctor or midwife less than 48 hours after the appointment, the complete ”Dépistage Prénatal de la trisomie 21” result is calculated by the genetics laboratory at the Centre hospitalier Universitaire Sainte-Justine (CHUSJ).  It is only available after the second blood sample analysis and is sent to the doctor or midwife. This test is offered to all future parents, but it is not mandatory.

Find out more about the Trisomy 21 prenatal screening of Quebec

If your physician is in Ontario (even if you reside in Quebec):

Your Physician will provide a form called ‘’PRENATAL SCREENING for Down Syndrom, Trimosy 18 and Open Neural Tube Defects’’ from the Mont Sinai Hospital. Your Physician will discuss the options available to  you within this program, either the ”First Trimester Combined Screening (FTS)” or the ”Integrated Prenatal Screening (IPS)”. It is imperative to bring this form with you on the day of your appointment since the technologist who will do the ultrasound needs to fill in a section of this form.  If you are having a ”First Trimester Combined Screening”, the blood sample is taken on the day of the ultrasound or on the following days (no later than 13 weeks + 6 days). For  the ”Integrated Prenatal Screening”, the first blood sample is taken on the day of the ultrasound or on the following days (no later than 13 weeks + 6 days) and  the second blood sample is taken between 15 weeks + 3 days and 18 weeks + 6 days.

The Clinique d’échographie de l’Outaouais does not offer a blood sample collection service. Patients of Ontario Physicians must go to a blood collection center in Ontario to ensure the blood sample is properly delivered to the Mount Sinai Hospital Genetic Laboratory.

Although a nuchal translucency ultrasound report is sent to the doctor or midwife less than 48 hours after the appointment, the FTS or IPS result is calculated by the genetics laboratory at the Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO).  It is only available after the second blood sample analysis and is sent to the doctor or midwife. This test is offered to all future parents, but it is not mandatory.

Find out more about the First Trimester Combined Screening in Ontario

Find out more about the Integral Prenatal Screening in Ontario

3D/4D UltrasoundCapture d’écran 2014-02-28 à 15.56.16

3D/4D ultrasound provides beautiful images for you and your family. It allows you to view and keep images of your baby before he or she is born! With the help of an advanced technology, we are able to produce 3D ultrasound images, which allow you to look at your baby’s features in real-time. The 4D ultrasound is the 3D ultrasound in movement.

It is done during the third trimester, between weeks 28 and 32, and includes the following:

  • 3D/4D ultrasound session;
  • Complete third trimester ultrasound;
  • Ultrasound session recorded on DVD;
  • Several pictures of your baby.
  • Option : Your baby’s heartbeat in a teddy bear

A requisition signed by your doctor or midwife is mandatory. Don’t forget to ask for it.

Preparing for the third trimester 3D/4D ultrasound: No preparation is required
Please note that a completed requisition form from your doctor or midwife is required at the time of your appointment. Otherwise, we cannot proceed.

Duration: 40 Minutes

IMPORTANT: Note that multiple pregnancy ultrasound will be charged accordingly , since we have to do a full scan for each fetus. You will need to allow time for each fetuses .

facebook

Téléphonez-nous au 819-771-1884

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements

header-pages

Échographies Obstétricales

Enceinte?  Vous trouverez ici toute l’information concernant les échographies obstétricales qui aident le médecin ou la sage-femme à suivre de près chaque étape de la grossesse.

Certaines femmes n’ont qu’une seule échographie durant toute la grossesse alors que d’autres en ont plusieurs. L’imagerie par échographie est une façon sécuritaire d’obtenir des images de l’intérieur du corps. Dans le cas d’une femme enceinte, elle permet de déterminer sa condition ainsi que celle de son embryon ou fœtus en utilisant des ondes sonores à haute fréquence. Les ondes sonores réfléchies sont enregistrées et donnent une image visuelle en temps réel. Contrairement aux rayons X, il n’y a pas de radiation ionisante.

Une échographie obstétricale est effectuée à la demande du médecin ou de la sage-femme de la patiente. Les raisons de la prescrire sont nombreuses et varient selon l’âge gestationnel.

IMPORTANT: à noter que les échographies de grossesses gémellaires seront facturés en double, puisque nous devrons faire deux échographies. C’est à dire, une échographie complète pour chaque fœtus. Vous devrez donc prévoir le double du temps prévu pour une échographie.

1er Trimestre2e Trimestre3e TrimestreClarté nucaleÉchographie 3D/4D

1er Trimestre

obstetrique img-premier trimestreSus-pubienne et endo-vaginale

Le 1e  trimestre débute à la 1ère semaine et se termine à la 15e semaine.

Indications  générales :

  • Estimer l’âge de la grossesse;
  • Établir la présence d’un fœtus ou d’un embryon vivant;
  • Déterminer s’il y a grossesse multiple;
  • Éliminer ou déceler la possibilité d’une grossesse anormale (ectopique, extra-utérine, molaire, anembryonnaire, etc.).

Comment se déroule l’examen ?

Le technologue demande à la patiente de s’étendre sur le dos sur une table d’examen et de découvrir le bas de son ventre. Il protège le bas des vêtements avec une serviette, puis étend un gel chaud sur l’abdomen avant d’y déplacer le transducteur. Cet appareil émet des ondes sonores qui, lorsque réfléchies, permettent de visualiser les structures internes du corps. Ensuite, au besoin, le technologue effectue une échographie endo-vaginale, c’est-à-dire qu’il place une sonde spéciale dans le vagin, ce qui permet de capter des images plus détaillées du fœtus, de l’utérus et des ovaires. La patiente doit alors vider sa vessie, puis retirer le bas de ses vêtements et adopter une position gynécologique.

Les images produites en échographie sont diffusées en temps réel sur un écran que le technologue surveille tandis qu’il déplace le transducteur. La patiente peut aussi voir les images.

Qu’est-ce qu’on ressent ?

L’échographie ne cause aucune douleur. On peut ressentir un inconfort lorsque le technologue appuie fermement sur certaines régions avec le transducteur pour capter des images, surtout lorsque la vessie est pleine. Cet inconfort est minime et temporaire. Le technologue fait tout son possible pour que l’examen se déroule le plus confortablement possible.

Préparation à l’échographie de 1er trimestre :

La vessie doit être pleine, assez pour éprouver un inconfort. Il faut boire un litre d’eau et l’avoir tout bu une heure avant l’examen. Ensuite, il ne faut pas uriner pour laisser le temps à la vessie de se remplir.

Vous devez absolument avoir la requête du médecin ou de la sage-femme en main lors du rendez-vous.
Sans cette requête, nous ne pouvons pas faire d’échographie.

Durée de l’examen : 30 minutes

  • Option 1 : Enregistrement de l’échographie sur DVD
  • Option 2 : Le battement du cœur de votre bébé dans un ourson en peluche
  • Option 3 : Enregistrement sur DVD + cœur du bébé dans un ourson

Visitez notre section pour en apprendre davantage sur l’échographie obstétricale du premier trimestre afin d’y trouver plus d’information.

IMPORTANT: à noter que les échographies de grossesse multiple seront facturés en conséquence, puisque nous devrons faire une échographie complète pour chaque fœtus. Vous devrez donc prévoir le temps selon le nombre de fœtus.

2e Trimestre

obstetrique img-2 trimestreSus-pubienne et endo-vaginale (au besoin)

Le 2e trimestre débute à la 15e semaine et se termine à la 25e semaine.

Indications générales :

  • Évaluer la morphologie du fœtus : Prescrite généralement  entre 18 et 20 semaines de grossesse.  Le technologue évalue chaque partie du  fœtus, du placenta et de l’utérus selon les normes établies par la Société des obstétriciens et gynécologues du Canada (SOGC). C’est  aussi lors de cette échographie que les parents  peuvent,  s’ils le souhaitent,  connaître  le sexe de leur bébé;
  • 
Détecter la présence d’un fœtus vivant;
  • Estimer l’âge de la grossesse;
  • 
Déceler des anomalies ou en faire le suivi;
  • Déterminer s’il y a grossesse multiple.

Comment se déroule l’examen ?

Le technologue demande à la patiente de s’étendre sur le dos sur une table d’examen et de découvrir le bas de son ventre. Il protège le bas des vêtements avec une serviette, puis il étend un gel chaud sur l’abdomen avant d’y déplacer le transducteur. Cet appareil émet des ondes sonores qui, lorsque réfléchies, permettent de visualiser les structures internes du corps. Ensuite, au besoin, le technologue effectue une échographie endo-vaginale, c’est-à-dire qu’il place une sonde spéciale dans le vagin, ce qui permet de capter des images plus détaillées du fœtus, de l’utérus et des ovaires. La patiente doit alors vider sa vessie, puis retirer le bas de ses vêtements et adopter une position gynécologique.

Les images produites en échographie sont diffusées en temps réel sur un écran que le technologue surveille tandis qu’il déplace le transducteur. La patiente peut aussi voir les images.

Qu’est-ce qu’on ressent ?

L’échographie ne cause aucune douleur. On peut ressentir un inconfort lorsque le technologue appuie fermement sur certaines régions avec le transducteur pour capter des images, surtout lorsque la vessie est pleine. Cet inconfort est minime et temporaire. Le technologue fait tout son possible pour que l’examen se déroule le plus confortablement possible.

Préparation à l’échographie de 2ème trimestre :

La vessie doit être pleine, assez pour éprouver un inconfort. Il faut boire un litre d’eau et l’avoir tout bu une heure avant l’examen. Ensuite, il ne faut pas uriner pour laisser le temps à la vessie de se remplir.

Vous devez absolument avoir la requête du médecin ou de la sage-femme en main lors du rendez-vous.
Sans cette requête, nous ne pouvons pas faire d’échographie.

Durée de l’examen : 40 minutes

  • Option 1 : Enregistrement de l’échographie sur DVD
  • Option 2 : Le battement du coeur de votre bébé dans un ourson en peluche
  • Option 3 : Enregistrement sur DVD + cœur du bébé dans un ourson

Visitez notre section pour en apprendre davantage sur l’échographie obstétricale du deuxième trimestre afin d’y trouver plus d’information.

IMPORTANT: à noter que les échographies de grossesse multiple seront facturés en conséquence, puisque nous devrons faire une échographie complète pour chaque fœtus. Vous devrez donc prévoir le temps selon le nombre de fœtus.

3e Trimestre

obstetrique img-3 trimestreSus-pubienne et endo-vaginale (au besoin)

Le 3e trimestre débute à la 26e semaine et se termine vers la 40e semaine, au moment de l’accouchement.

Indications générales : 
 

  • Détacter la présence d’un fœtus vivant;
  • Dresser le profil biophysique du fœtus;
  • Évaluer la croissance du fœtus;
  • Déterminer l’orientation du fœtus;
  • Déceler des anomalies ou en faire le suivi;
  • Évaluer la position du placenta;
  • Évaluer la quantité de liquide amniotique.

Comment se déroule l’examen ?  

Le technologue demande à la patiente de s’étendre sur le dos sur une table d’examen et de découvrir le bas de son ventre. Il protège le bas des vêtements avec une serviette, puis il étend un gel chaud sur l’abdomen avant d’y déplacer le transducteur. Cet appareil émet des ondes sonores qui, lorsque réfléchies, permettent de visualiser les structures internes du corps. Ensuite, au besoin, le technologue effectue une échographie endo-vaginale, c’est-à-dire qu’il place une sonde spéciale dans le vagin, ce qui permet de capter des images plus détaillées. La patiente doit alors vider sa vessie, puis retirer le bas de ses vêtements et adopter une position gynécologique.

Les images produites en échographie sont diffusées en temps réel sur un écran que le technologue surveille tandis qu’il déplace le transducteur. La patiente peut aussi voir les images.

Qu’est-ce qu’on ressent ?

L’échographie ne cause aucune douleur. On peut ressentir un inconfort lorsque le technologue appuie fermement sur certaines régions avec le transducteur pour capter des images, surtout lorsque la vessie est pleine. Cet inconfort est minime et temporaire. Le technologue fait tout son possible pour que l’examen se déroule le plus confortablement possible.

Préparation à l’échographie de 3ème trimestre : Aucune

Vous devez absolument avoir la requête du médecin ou de la sage-femme en main lors du rendez-vous.
Sans cette requête, nous ne pouvons pas faire d’échographie.

Durée de l’examen : 30 minutes (2D), 40 Minutes (3D/4D)

Entre 28 et 32 semaines de grossesse, il est possible de faire l’échographie de troisième trimestre en 3D/4D! 

  • Option 1 : Enregistrement de l’échographie sur DVD – 25,00$
  • Option 2 : Le battement du cœur de votre bébé dans un ourson en peluche – 35,00$
  • Option 3 : Enregistrement sur DVD + cœur du bébé dans un ourson – 50,00$

Visitez notre section pour en apprendre davantage sur l’échographie obstétricale du troisième trimestre afin d’y trouver plus d’information.

IMPORTANT: à noter que les échographies de grossesse multiple seront facturés en conséquence, puisque nous devrons faire une échographie complète pour chaque fœtus. Vous devrez donc prévoir le temps selon le nombre de fœtus.

Clarté nucale dans le cadre de dépistages prénataux

obstetrique img-clarte nucaleSus-pubienne et endo-vaginale (au besoin)

L’échographie de la clarté nucale doit être faite dans la période allant de la 11e semaine + 4 jours à la 13e semaine + 6 jours.

Indication :

Mesurer l’épaisseur de la clarté nucale.

Qu’est-ce que c’est :

L’Échographie de la clarté nucale fait habituellement ‘dun test de dépistage prénatal qui vise à déterminer le risque de trisomie 18, trisomie 21 et des anomalies du tube neural, rénales et cardiaques. Durant cette échographie le technologue mesure l’épaisseur d’une très fine lisière de liquide située dans la nuque du bébé, entre la peau et la colonne vertébrale. Ce liquide est présent uniquement entre 11 semaines+4 jours et 13 semaines+6 jours, c’est pourquoi  l’échographie de la clarté nucale ne peut pas être faite avant ou après cette période de la grossesse.  L’épaisseur de cette lisière de liquide, appelée clarté nucale, est déterminante dans le cadre du DPI qui est effectué en trois parties, soit l’échographie de la clarté nucale et deux prises de sang faites à des moments différents.

Comment se déroule l’examen ?  

Le technologue demande à la patiente de s’étendre sur le dos sur une table d’examen et de découvrir le bas de son ventre. Il protège le bas des vêtements avec une serviette, puis il étend un gel chaud sur l’abdomen avant d’y déplacer le transducteur. Cet appareil émet des ondes sonores qui, lorsque réfléchies, permettent de visualiser les structures internes du corps. Au besoin, le technologue effectue une échographie endo-vaginale, c’est-à-dire qu’il place une sonde spéciale dans le vagin, ce qui permet de capter des images plus détaillées du fœtus, de l’utérus et des ovaires. La patiente doit alors vider sa vessie, puis retirer le bas de ses vêtements et adopter une position gynécologique.

Les images produites en échographie sont diffusées en temps réel sur un écran que le technologue surveille tandis qu’il déplace le transducteur. La patiente peut aussi voir les images.

Qu’est-ce qu’on ressent ?

L’échographie ne cause aucune douleur. On peut ressentir un inconfort lorsque le technologue appuie fermement sur certaines régions avec le transducteur pour capter des images, surtout lorsque la vessie est pleine. Cet inconfort est minime et temporaire. Le technologue fait tout son possible pour que l’examen se déroule le plus confortablement possible.

Préparation à l’échographie de la clarté nucale :

La vessie doit être pleine, assez pour éprouver un inconfort. Il faut boire un litre d’eau et l’avoir tout bu une heure avant l’examen. Ensuite, il ne faut pas uriner pour laisser le temps à la vessie de se remplir.

Vous devez absolument avoir la requête du médecin ou de la sage-femme en main lors du rendez-vous.
Sans cette requête, nous ne pouvons pas faire d’échographie.

Durée de l’examen : 30 minutes

  • Option 1 : Enregistrement de l’échographie sur DVD
  • Option 2 : Le battement du cœur de votre bébé dans un ourson en peluche
  • Option 3 : Enregistrement sur DVD + cœur du bébé dans un ourson

IMPORTANT: à noter que les échographies de grossesse multiples seront facturés en conséquence, puisque nous devrons faire une échographie complète pour chaque fœtus. Vous devrez donc prévoir le temps selon le nombre de fœtus. Pour les patiente suivie par un médecinou une sage-femme au Québec, le dépistage prénatal de la trisomie 21 n’est pas disponible dans le cas de grossesse multiple. Nous pouvons quand même faire l’examen de clarté nucale, mais les prélèvements sanguins seront inutiles.

Au sujet des prélèvements sanguins : Il n’est pas nécessaire d’être à jeun pour la prise de sang.

Si vous êtes suivi au Québec:

Votre médecin ou votre sage-femme vous aura remis le formulaire AH-611 intitulé  »Dépistage prénatal de la trisomie 21 », fourni par le Ministère de la santé du Québec, après l’avoir rempli et signé avec vous.  Dans le cadre du programme québécois de dépistage prénatal de la trisomie 21, l’échographie de clarté nucale n’est pas obligatoire et la première prise de sang peut se faire à partir de la dixième semaine de grossesse. Toutefois, si vous choisissez d’avoir la clarté nucale qui peut se faire seulement entre 11 semaines +4 jours et 13 semaines +6 jours de grossesse, nous vous recommandons fortement d’aller pour la première prise de sang seulement après cet examen, c’est à dire la journée même ou dans les quelques jours qui suivent (le deuxième prélèvement sanguin doit se faire entre 14 semaines et 16 semaines + 6 jours de grossesse, et au moins 8 jours doivent s’écouler entre le premier et le deuxième prélèvement). Il est primordial d’avoir AVEC VOUS le formulaire AH-611 rempli et signé le jour de votre échographie de clarté nucale car la technologue qui fera l’examen doit obligatoirement remplir et signer la section qui lui est réservée. Nous serons aussi en mesure de vous indiquer précisément les dates adéquates pour le deuxième prélèvement. Dans le cas d’une grossesse multiple, nous pouvons effectuer la mesure de la clarté nucale sur chacun des embryons, mais le dépistage prénétal complet avec analyse de sang n’est pas offert au Québec.

La clinique d’échographie de l’Outaouais n’offre pas de service de prélèvement sanguin.  Ily a un centre de prélévement juste en face de notre immeuble s’appelle Sentinelle Santé, située au 232 Boul. St-Joseph. Vous pouvez vous y rendre tout de suite après votre échographie (les frais sont de 35,00$ pour la prise de sang). Vous pouvez aussi aller dans un CSSS ou un CLSC près de chez vous ou dans un centre de prélèvement privé de votre choix.

Bien qu’un rapport d’échographie de la clarté nucale soit envoyé au médecin ou sage-femme 24 à 48 heures après le rendez-vous, le résultat du dépistage prénatal est établi par le laboratoire génétique du Centre hospitalier universitaire Sainte-Justine (CHUSJ). Il n’est disponible qu’après l’analyse de la deuxième prise de sang et est transmis au médecin ou à la sage femme.  Ce test est proposé à tous les futurs parents, mais il n’est pas obligatoire.

En savoir plus à propos du programme québecois de dépistage prénatal de la trisomie 21

Si vous êtes suivie on Ontario (même si vous résidez au Québec):

Votre médecin vous aura remis le formulaire intitulé  »PRENATAL SCREENING for Down Syndrom, Trisomy 18 and Open Neural Tube Defects » du Mont Sinai Hospital. Votre médecin aura discuté avec vous des options offertes par ce programme, soit le  »First Trimester Combined Screening (FTS) » ou le  »Integrated Prenatal Screening (IPS) ».  Il est important d’avoir avec vous le formulaire le jour de votre échographie de clarté nucale car la technologue qui fera votre examen doit remplir une section de ce formulaire avant que vous n’alliez pour le prélèvement sanguin. En ce qui concerne le  »First Trimester Combined Screening » la prise de sang doit être faite le même jour que l’échographie ou dans les jours qui suivent (au plus tard à 13 semaines+6jours). Pour le  »Integrated Prenatal Screening » la première prise de sang doit être faite le même jour que l’échographie ou dans les jours qui suivent (au plus tard à 13 semaines+6jours), et la deuxième prise de sang est faite entre 15 semaines et 18 semaines+6jours.  Bien qu’un rapport d’échographie de la clarté nucale soit envoyé au médecin ou sage-femme 24 à 48 heures après le rendez-vous, le résultat diu FTS ou du IPS est établi par le laboratoire génétique du Mont Sinai Hospital. Il n’est  disponible qu’après l’analyse des échantillons de sang et est transmis au médecin.  Ce test est proposé à tous les futurs parents, mais il n’est pas obligatoire.

La clinique d’échographie de l’Outaouais n’offre pas de service de prélèvement sanguin.  Les patientes suivies par un médecin en Ontario doivent se rendre dans un centre de prélèvement situé en Ontario afin de s’assurer que les échantillons seront bel et bien livrés au laboration de génétique de  »Mount Sinai Hospital »

En savoir plus sur le  »First Trimester Combined Screening » de l’Ontario (anglais seulement)

En savoir plus sur le  »Integrated Prenatal Screening » de l’Ontario (anglais seulement)

Échographie 3D/4D

Capture d’écran 2014-02-28 à 15.56.16

L’échographie 3D/4D est un moment magique à vivre en famille et vous permet de voir votre bébé avant même sa naissance! Grâce à une technologie avancée, il est possible de produire des images échographiques 3D, ce qui permet de définir les reliefs et ainsi d’admirer, en temps réel, les traits de votre petit trésor. L’échographie 4D est l’échographie 3D en mouvement.

Elle est effectuée au troisième trimestre de la grossesse, entre la 28e et la 32e semaine, et comprend :

  • La séance 3D/4D;
  • L’échographie complète de troisième trimestre ;
  • l’enregistrement de l’échographie sur DVD;
  • Plusieurs photos de votre petit trésor.
  • Option: Le battement du coeur de votre bébé dans un ourson en peluche

La requête de votre médecin ou sage-femme est obligatoire. N’oubliez pas de la lui demander.

Préparation à l’échographie de 3ème trimestre en 3D/4D: Aucune

Vous devez absolument avoir la requête du médecin ou de la sage-femme en main lors du rendez-vous.
Sans cette requête, nous ne pouvons pas faire d’échographie.

Durée de l’examen: 40 Minutes

IMPORTANT: à noter que les échographies de grossesse multiple seront facturés en conséquence, puisque nous devrons faire une échographie complète pour chaque fœtus. Vous devrez donc prévoir le temps selon le nombre de fœtus.