facebook

Call Us at 819.771.1884

for more information

header-pages

Women Pelvic Ultrasound

Learn more about Women Pelvic Ultrasound

Women sonography, or ultrasound examination, is a medical imaging technique that allows viewing inside the body. It is done using a transducer, also called a ‘probe’, which emits high frequency sound waves (ultrasounds). When reflected by the body’s internal structures, these waves produce images. Sonography can also be useful to guide the punction of an organ, an intra-articualr injection or a biopsy.
Since ultrasounds are absorded by gas and stopped by hard structures such as bone and calcification, some internal organs are not well viewed with sonography which, therefore, is not the primary choice for examining them. It is the case for the lungs, intestines, stomac, and brain. Unlike MRI, CT scan and X-ray, no ionizing radiations are used during sonography. It is painless and non-invasive, which makes it safe for repetitive use.
The sonography is performed by a specialized medical imagery technologist, called a sonographer, or a radiologist. The patient lies on their back or side with their lower abdomen uncovered. A gel is applied to the skin to help with the ultrasounds’ transmission and ease the movements of the probe. This type of examination is usualy painless, but the patient may experience some discomfort as the sonographer presses with the probe.
The pelvic ultrasound for women, often called gyneacological ultrasound, is the ideal examination to explore the organs and tissues inside the pelvic cavity such as the bladder, uterus and the cervix, ovaries, Fallopian tubes, mucus and serous lining, endometrium, myometrium as well as the uterine, ovarian and annexial vascularity. The sonographer sweeps the pelvic surface with the probe to investigate the organs size, shape and anomalies in their structures. If necessary, the technologist may perfom a trans-vaginal examination using a specialized probe, allowing more detailled images. In this case, the patient will, after emptying their bladder, remove any clothing for their bottom and adopt a gyneacological position. The waves are reconstructed into 2D, or even 3D, images on a screen as the sonographer and/or radiologist is carefully examining them.
The pelvic ultrasound for women can provide much information on the organs located in the pelvic cavity that are more complete than regular X-rays.
The pelvic ultrasound examination mainly explores:
• Bladder : Shape, wall, size when full, size when emptied, post-void residu, urinary jets;
• Uterus and cervix: Size, shape, position, IUD location, presence of debris, signs of infections, ascites, tumors, polyps, fibroids;
• Ovaries : Size, follicular activity, presence of cysts, tumors;
• Fallopian tubes : signs of infection, suspicion of rupture, hydrosalphinx;
• Endometrium : thickness, shape, polyps;
• Myometrium: fibrois, cysts, adenomyosis;
• Serous lining: Mucus and sub-mucus linings.
Sonography can also help to show abnormal lymph nodes (lymphadenopathy) or the presence of free fluids (ascitis), blood and suspicious masses. It may also be useful to guide surgical interventions such as a punction, ablation, aspiration or biopsy. It is also widely used for the treatment of infertility to extract ovums and implant embryos.
To proceed to the pelvic ultrasound, the patient must have a full bladder. They must drink one liter of clear liquid one hour prior to the examination. Then, the patient must not urinate to leave time for the bladder to fill up.
The pelvic ultrasound for women takes about forty minutes. A detailed report is written by the radiologist and is then transmitted to the patient’s physician who will, if necessary, make decisions regarding treatment and/or further investigations.

facebook

Téléphonez-nous au 819-771-1884

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements

header-pages

Échographie Pelvienne Femme

En apprendre davantage sur l’échographie pelvienne pour femme

L’échographie pelvienne de la femme est une technique d’imagerie médicale qui permet de visualiser l’intérieur du corps. On utilise un transducteur, aussi appelé ‘sonde’, qui émet des ondes sonores à haute fréquence (ultrasons). Lorsque réfléchies par les structures internes du corps, ces ondes produisent les images échographiques. L’échographie peut aussi être utile pour guider une ponction d’organe, une injection intra-articulaire ou une biopsie.

Puisque les ultrasons sont absorbés par les gaz et arrêtés par les structures dures, l’échographie n’est pas la technique d’imagerie de premier choix pour examiner certains organes tels les poumons, les intestins, l’estomac, le cerveau et les os. L’échographie n’utilise aucun rayonnement ionisant, contrairement à la radiographie, la résonnance magnétique et la tomodensitométrie. Indolore et non invasive, l’échographie peut être répétée sans risque.

L’examen est fait par un radiologue ou un technologue spécialiste de l’imagerie médicale par échographie, appelé échographiste. La patiente est allongée sur le dos ou le côté, le bas du ventre à découvert. Un gel conducteur est étalé sur la peau, ce qui facilite le passage des ultrasons et le déplacement de la sonde. L’échographie comme telle est indolore. Seule la pression de la sonde peut provoquer un inconfort.

L’échographie pelvienne, dite aussi gynécologique, est l’examen idéal pour explorer les organes et tissus de la cavité pelvienne de la femme comme : la vessie, l’utérus et son col, les ovaires, les trompes de Fallope, la paroi séreuse, la paroi muqueuse, l’endomètre, le myomètre ainsi que la vascularité utérine, ovarienne et annexielle. Le technologue balaye la surface pelvienne avec sa sonde pour étudier tous les organes: leur taille, leur forme et toutes anomalies ou irrégularités de structure. Si nécessaire, l’échographie peut aussi se faire par voie vaginale à l’aide d’une sonde spécialisée, ce qui permet d’obtenir des images plus détaillées. Dans un tel cas, la patiente, après avoir vidé sa vessie, devra retirer les vêtements du bas et adopter une position gynécologique. Les images sont reconstituées en 2D, ou même en 3D, sur un écran que regarde le technologue et/ou le radiologue.

L’échographie pelvienne fournit de nombreux renseignements, plus complets que la radiographie régulière, sur les organes tissus pelviens.

Les principaux organes explorés lors de l’échographie pelvienne chez la femme sont:

  • La vessie : Taille pleine, taille vide, paroi, jets urinaires, résidu post-mictionnel :
  • L’utérus et son col: Taille, forme, position, emplacement de stérilet, présence de débris, signes d’infection, ascites, tumeurs, fibromes;
  • Les ovaires: Taille, activités folliculaires, présence de kystes, tumeurs;
  • Les trompes de Fallope: signes d’infection. suspicion de rupture, hydrosalphinx;
  • L’endomètre: Forme, épaisseur, polypes;
  • Le myomètre: Fibromes, kystes, adénomyose.
  • la paroi séreuse: Paroi muqueuse et sous-muqueuse.

L’échographie peut également montrer des ganglions anormaux (adénopathie), la présence d’accumulation de sang ou des masses suspectes.

L’échographie peut aussi être utile pour guider des interventions chirurgicales au niveau de l’utérus, comme une ponction, une ablation, une aspiration ou une biopsie. L’échographie est une aussi une technique largement utilisée dans le cadre de traitement de l’infertilité pour le retrait des ovules ainsi que l’implantation des embryons.

Pour procéder à l’échographie pelvienne de la femme, la patiente doit nécessairement avoir la vessie pleine. Il faut alors boire environ un litre de liquide clair une heure avant l’examen et ne plus aller uriner afin de laisser le temps à la vessie de se remplir.

L’échographie pelvienne chez la femme dure environ quarante  minutes. Un rapport détaillé est établi par un radiologue puis transmis au médecin traitant du patient qui, s’il y a lieu, devra prendre des décisions quant au traitement et/ou aux examens subséquents.