facebook

Call Us at 819.771.1884

for more information

header-pages

Abdominal Ultrasound

To learn more about the Abdominal Ultrasound

Sonography, or ultrasound examination, is a medical imaging technique that allows viewing inside the body. It is done using a transducer, also called a ‘probe’, which emits high frequency sound waves (ultrasounds). When reflected by the body’s internal structures, these waves produce images. Sonography can also be useful to guide the punction of an organ, an intra-articualr injection or a biopsy.

Since ultrasounds are absorded by gas and stopped by hard structures such as bone and calcification, some internal organs are not well viewed with sonography which, therefore, is not the primary choice for examining them. It is the case for the lungs, intestines, stomac, and brain. Unlike MRI, CT scan and X-ray, no ionizing radiations are used during sonography. It is painless and non-invasive, which makes it safe for repetitive use.

The sonography is performed by a specialized medical imagery technologist, called a sonographer, or a radiologist. The patient lies topless on their back or side. A gel is applied to the skin to help with the ultrasounds’ transmission and ease the movements of the probe. This type of examination is usualy painless, but the patient may experience some discomfort as the sonographer presses with the probe.

The abdominal ultrasound is the ideal examination to explore abdominal viscera such as the liver, gallbladder and bile ducts, kidneys, spleen, pancreas and abdominal aorta. The sonographer sweeps the entire abdominal surface with the probe to investigate the organs size, shape and anomalies in their structures. The waves are reconstructed into images on a screen as the sonographer or radiologist is carefully examining them.

The abdominal ultrasound can provide much information on abdominal organs that are more complete than regular X-rays.

Abdominal ultrasound examination mainly explores:

  • Gallbladder and bile ducts : gallstones, duct dilatation, tumors, abcess, inflammation of the wall, polyps, sludge;
  • Liver : size, shape and homogeneity (cirrhosis, steatosis, or fatty liver), cysts, abcess, tumors, metastasis of non liver cancers;
  • Spleen : Shape, size, swelling, tears;
  • Pancreas : Cysts, pancreatitis, cancer, dilated duct;
  • Kidneys : Stones,  dilatation of the renal pelvis and ureter, cysts, malformations, position (ectopic kidbey);
  • Abdominal aorta and and inferior vena cava: aneurysm, calcifications, blockages;
  • Abdominal wall and cavity: hernia, lipoma.

Sonography can also help to show abnormal lymph nodes (lymphadenopathy) or the presence of free fluids (ascitis), blood and suspicious masses.

To proceed to the abdominal sonography, the patient must be fasting for at least 8 hours. Food, drinks (other than water) and cigarettes are not allowed.

The abdominal ultrasound takes about thirty minutes. A detailed report is written by the radiologist and is then transmitted to the patient’s physician who will, if necessary, make decisions regarding treatment and/or further investigations.

facebook

Téléphonez-nous au 819-771-1884

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements

header-pages

Échographie Abdominale

En apprendre davantage sur l’échographie abdominale

L’échographie est une technique d’imagerie médicale qui permet de visualisé l’intérieur du corps. On utilise un transducteur, aussi appelé ‘sonde’, qui émet des ondes sonores à haute fréquence (ultrasons). Lorsque réfléchies par les structures internes du corps, ces ondes produisent les images échographiques. L’échographie peut aussi être utile pour guider une ponction d’organe, une injection intra-articulaire ou une biopsie.

Puisque les ultrasons sont absorbés par les gaz et arrêtés par les structures dures, l’échographie n’est pas la technique d’imagerie de premier choix pour examiner certains organes tels les poumons, les intestins, l’estomac, le cerveau et les os. L’échographie n’utilise aucun rayonnement ionisant, contrairement à la radiographie, la résonnance magnétique et la tomodensitométrie. Indolore et non invasive, l’échographie peut être répétée sans risque.

L’examen échographique est fait par un radiologue ou un technologue spécialiste de l’imagerie médicale, appelé échographiste. Le patient est torse nu, allongé sur le dos ou le côté. Un gel conducteur est étalé sur la peau, ce qui facilite le passage des ultrasons et le déplacement de la sonde. L’échographie comme telle est indolore. Seule la pression de la sonde peut provoquer un inconfort.

L’échographie abdominale est l’examen idéal pour explorer les viscères abdominaux comme : le foie, la vésicule et les voies biliaires, les reins, la rate, le pancréas et l’aorte abdominale. Le technologue balaye la surface abdominale avec sa sonde pour étudier tous les organes: leur taille, leur forme et toutes anomalies ou irrégularités de structure. Les images sont reconstituées sur un écran que regarde le technologue et/ou le radiologue.

L’échographie abdominale fournit de nombreux renseignements, plus complets que la radiographie régulière, sur les organes abdominaux.

Les principaux organes explorés lors de l’échographie abdominale sont:

  • la vésicule et les voies biliaires: calculs biliaires, dilatation, tumeurs, abcès, inflammation de la paroi, polypes ;
  • le foie: taille et homogénéité (cirrhose, stéatose), kystes, abcès, tumeurs, métastases de cancers non hépatiques;
  • la rate: taille, forme, gonflement, suspicion de rupture;
  • le pancréas: kyste, pancréatite, cancer, dilatation du canal pancréatique;
  • les reins: calculs, dilatation des bassinets ou des uretères, tumeurs, atrophie, malposition, kystes, malformations, emplacement (rein ectopique);
  • l’aorte et la veine cave inférieure : anévrisme, calcifications, blocages;
  • la paroi de la cavité abdominale : hernie, lipomes.

L’échographie peut également montrer des ganglions anormaux (adénopathie), la présence d’ascite (accumulation de liquide libre), de sang ou des masses suspectes.

L’échographie peut aussi être utile pour guider une ponction d’organe ou une biopsie.

Pour procéder à l’échographie abdominale, le patient doit nécessairement être à jeun depuis au moins 8 heures. Il ne peut donc pas boire (sauf de l’eau, au besoin), manger ou fumer.

Préparation pour l’examen de l’échographie abdominale

L’échographie abdominale dure environ trente  minutes. Un rapport détaillé est établi par un radiologue puis transmis au médecin traitant du patient qui, s’il y a lieu, devra prendre des décisions quant au traitement et/ou aux examens subséquents.