facebook

Call Us at 819.771.1884

for more information

header-pages

Third Trimester Pregnancy Ultrasound examination

Third Trimester Ultrasound examination: More information

Third trimester pregnancy ultrasound examination, or Sonography, is a medical imaging technique that allows viewing inside the body. It is done using a transducer, also called a ‘probe’, which emits high frequency sound waves (ultrasounds). When reflected by the body’s internal structures, these waves produce images.

Since ultrasounds are stopped by gas and by hard structures such as bone and calcification, some internal organs are not well viewed with sonography which, therefore, is not the primary choice of exam. It is the case for the lungs, bowels, stomac, and brain. Unlike MRI, CT scan and X-ray, no ionizing radiations are used during sonography. It is painless and non-invasive, which makes it safe for repetitive use.

The sonography is performed by a specialized medical imaging technologist, called a sonographer, an OB/GYN or a radiologist. The patient lies on their back or side with their lower abdomen uncovered. A transmission gel is applied to the skin and ease the movements of the probe. This type of examination is usualy painless, but the patient may experience some discomfort as the sonographer presses with the probe.

The  third trimester obstetrical ultrasound is mostly used to assess adequate fetal growth and its biophysical profile. It is generally performed between the 28th and 32nd week of gestation, however, it can be done before or after that period depending on the doctors or midwife’s recommendation to check on some aspect of the pregnancy or to follow-up on previously diagnosed anomalies. The sonographer sweeps the mother’s abdomen with the probe to investigate the size, shape and structure of the foetuses organs and limbs, as well as the mother’s uterine health.  If necessary, the technologist may perfom a trans-vaginal examination using a specialized probe, allowing more detailled images. In this case, the patient will, after emptying their bladder, remove clothing for their bottom and adopt a gyneacological position. The waves are reconstructed into 2D, or even 3D, images on a screen as the sonographer and/or radiologist is carefully examining them.

The third trimester obstetrical ultrasound can provide much information about the pregnancy by investigating the following:

Fœtus :

  • Biparietal diameter : Measurement of the head from side to side;
  • Distance occipito-frontale: Distance between the occiput (back of the head) to the forehead;
  • Head circumference;
  • Abdominal circumference;
  • The lenght of the femur;
  • Cardiac activity: beats per minute
  • Ombilical cord Doppler;
  • Cerebral artery Doppler;
  • Measurement of the cardiac septum;
  • Estimation of the baby’s weight.

Furthermore, the presence, location, shape and number (when applicable) of the spine, stomach, kidneys, bladder, limbs, heart chambers,outflow tract  and the aortic arch, as well as facial features like the nose, lips and profile will be investigated in search of any potential anomaly.

If there is a multiple pregnancy (twins, triplets, or more), this detailed investigation will be repeated for each feotus.

Mother :

  • Uterus and cervix: fibroids, cysts, masses, cervix length and early dilatation.
  • Doppler of the uterine artery;
  • Ovaries: Size, presence of cysts or masses;
  • Placenta: Size, shape, location, distance from cervix, grade, calcifications, hematomas, abruptios.
  • Amniotic fluid : Quantity (volume, amniotic index ), presence of sludge;
  • Membrane : Presence of synechiae or smniotic membrane.

Sonography can also help to show abnormal lymph nodes (lymphadenopathy), suspicious masses and the collection of free fluids (ascitis) or blood.

In some cases, ultrasounds are useful to guide interventions allowing more elaborate testing during pregnancy, like an amniocentesis

Contrary to the first and second trimester ultrasound where the patient’s bladder must be full, no preparation is needed for the third trimester’s ultrasound.

The third trimester ultrasound takes about thirdy minutes. A detailed report is written by the radiologist or OB/GYN  and is then transmitted to the patient’s physician or midwife who will make decisions regarding prenatal follow-ups and, if necessary, further examinations.

facebook

Téléphonez-nous au 819-771-1884

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements

header-pages

Échographie du troisième trimestre de grossesse: En apprendre davantage.

L’échographie du troisième trimestre de grossesse est une technique d’imagerie médicale qui permet de visualisé l’intérieur du corps. On utilise un transducteur, aussi appelé ‘sonde’, qui émet des ondes sonores à haute fréquence (ultrasons). Lorsque réfléchies par les structures internes du corps, ces ondes produisent les images échographiques.

Puisque les ultrasons sont arrêtés par les gaz et par les structures dures, l’échographie n’est pas la technique d’imagerie de premier choix pour examiner certains organes tels les poumons, les intestins, l’estomac, le cerveau et les os. L’échographie n’utilise aucun rayonnement ionisant, contrairement à la radiographie, la résonnance magnétique et la tomodensitométrie. Indolore, l’échographie peut être répétée avec un minime risque. C’est pourquoi l’échographie est largement utilisée afin d’examiner l’embryon et le fœtus. Cette technique est reconnue comme étant sécuritaire et sans danger pour la grossesse et le développement de l’enfant à naître.

L’examen est fait par un radiologue, un obstétricien/gynécologue, un périnatologue ou un technologue spécialiste de l’imagerie médicale par échographie, appelé échographiste. La patiente est allongée sur le dos ou le côté, le ventre à découvert. Un gel conducteur est étalé sur la peau, ce qui facilite le passage des ultrasons et le déplacement de la sonde. L’échographie comme telle est indolore. Seule la pression de la sonde peut provoquer un inconfort.

L’échographie du troisième trimestre de grossesse sert le plus souvent à s’assurer de la croissance adéquate du fœtus et à établir son profil biophysique. Elle est généralement pratiquée entre la 28ème et la 32ème semaine de la grossesse. Cependant, il arrive de la faire avant ou après cette période selon la demande du médecin ou de la sage-femme pour faire un suivi d’anomalies utérine ou fœtale à un moment bien précis. Le technologue balaye la surface du ventre avec sa sonde pour étudier les organes du fœtus ainsi que la santé utérine de la mère. Si nécessaire, l’échographie peut aussi se faire par voie vaginale à l’aide d’une sonde spécialisée, ce qui permet d’obtenir des images plus détaillées. Dans un tel cas, la patiente devra retirer les vêtements du bas et adopter une position gynécologique. Les images sont reconstituées en 2D, ou même en 3D, sur un écran que regarde le technologue et/ou le radiologue.

L’échographie de troisième trimestre de grossesse fournit de nombreux renseignements sur la grossesse, le fœtus ainsi que sur les organes et tissus pelviens de la mère en vérifiant ce qui suit :

Fœtus :

  • Diamètre bi-pariétal : La mesure d’un côté à l’autre de la tête;
  • Distance occipito-frontale: Distance entre l’occiput (derrière la tête) et le front;
  • Circonférence de la tête;
  • Circonférence abdominale;
  • Longueur du fémur;
  • Activité cardiaque : battements par minutes;
  • Doppler du cordon ombilical ;
  • Doppler de l’artère cérébrale ;
  • Mesure du septum cardiaque (SIV) ;
  • Estimation du poids foetal.

De plus la présence, l’emplacement, la forme et le nombre (lorsqu’applicable)de la colonne vertébrale, de l’estomac, des reins, de la vessie, des membres, des chambres cardiaques, voies d’éjection et crosse aortique et des éléments du visages tel le nez, les lèvres et le profil seront examinés à la recherche de toute anomalie.

S’il y a grossesse multiple (jumeaux, triplets, ou plus), cet examen détaillé sera répété pour chaque fœtus.

Mère :

  • L’utérus et le col: recherche de fibromes, kystes, masses, longueur du col et de dilatation précoce.
  • Doppler de l’artère utérine;
  • Les ovaires: Taille, présence de kystes, masses;
  • Le placenta : Taille, forme, emplacement, distance du col, grade,  calcification, décollement, hématome;
  • Liquide amniotique : Quantité (volume), présence de sludge;
  • Membrane : présence de synéchies ou de membranes amniotiques.

L’échographie peut également montrer des ganglions anormaux (adénopathie), la présence d’accumulation de sang ou des masses suspectes.

Dans certain cas, l’échographie peut aussi être utile pour guider des interventions permettant d’effectuer des tests de dépistage plus élaborés durant la grossesse, comme une amniocentèse.

Contrairement aux échographies de premier et de deuxième trimestre de grossesse pour lesquelles la vessie de la patiente doit être pleine, aucune préparation n’est nécessaire pour procéder à l’échographie de troisième trimestre de grossesse.

L’échographie de troisième trimestre de grossesse dure environ trente  minutes. Pour les grossesses gémellaires ou multiples, il faut multiplier ce temps par le nombre de fœtus.  Un rapport détaillé est établi par un obstétricien/gynécologue puis transmis au médecin traitant ou la sage-femme de la patiente qui devra prendre des décisions quant au suivi et aux examens subséquents.

IMPORTANT: à noter que les échographies de grossesse multiple seront facturés en conséquence, puisque nous devrons faire une échographie complète pour chaque fœtus. Vous devrez donc prévoir le temps selon le nombre de fœtus.